Sudan





Full name: Republic of Sudan

Government: Government of National Unity (GNU) - the National Congress Party (NCP) and Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM) formed a power-sharing government under the 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA); the NCP, which came to power by military coup in 1989, is the majority partner; the agreement stipulates national elections for the 2008 - 2009 timeframe

Location: Northern Africa, bordering the Red Sea, between Egypt and Eritrea

Capital: Khartoum

Area: 2.5 million sq km (966,757 sq miles); slightly more than one-quarter the size of the

US

Climate: tropical in south; arid desert in north; rainy season varies by region (April to November)

Terrain: generally flat, featureless plain; mountains in far south, northeast and west; desert dominates the north

Natural Hazards: dust storms and periodic persistent droughts

Population: 35 million (UN, 2005)

Ethnicity: black 52%, Arab 39%, Beja 6%, foreigners 2%, other 1%

Major Language: Arabic; Nubian

Religion: Sunni Muslim 70% (in north), Christian 5% (mostly in south and Khartoum),

indigenous beliefs 25%

Life expectancy: 55 years (men), 58 years (women) (UN)

Currency: Sudanese dinar